YARA Awards Night results; Langan named Player of the Year

Andy Hamilton Photography

The Moose Jaw Warriors held their annual YARA Awards Night before their regular season finale Saturday night.

Tristin Langan’s memorable season was recognized as he was named the Warriors 2018-2019 Player of the Year, as well as the RBC Top Scorer, YARA Belle Plain Fan’s Choice and the Emerald Custom Creations 3 Stars Award.

From Swan River, Manitoba, Langan was the Warriors final selection at the 2013 WHL Bantam Draft, as he was selected in the 9th round, 183rd overall.  Langan had a breakout season with the Warriors this year, finishing with 53 goals, 60 assists, and 113 points, he’s currently tied with Portland’s Joachim Blichfeld for the WHL scoring title and they both lead the league with 53 goals.

Justin Almeida was named the C & E Mechanical Most Sportsmanlike Player.  Coming to the Warriors midway through the 2016-2017 season, Almeida finished this season with 33 goals, 78 assists, 111 points, and 17 penalty minutes.  Almeida finished third in the WHL scoring race, his assists ranks 1st in the league, and he recently signed an NHL Entry-Level contract with the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Warriors 2016 1st round pick Brayden Tracey captured the McDonald’s Rookie of the Year trophy.  The 17-year-old from Calgary finished the season with 36 goals, 45 assists, and 81 points and won the WHL rookie scoring title.

19-year-old signed Montreal Canadiens prospect Josh Brook was named the Warriors Safeway/Sobey’s Inc. Top Defenceman.  Brook was a steady and consistent presence on the blueline this season and finished the year with 16 goals, 59 assists, and 75 points, and finished tied with Saskatoon’s Dawson Davidson for most points by a defenceman.

Goaltenders Brodan Salmond and Adam Evanoff were named the co-recipients of the 2019 Cody Smuk Un-Sung Hero Award.  The goaltending duo were rocks for the Warriors throughout the course of the season as they split time in the crease.  As a duo, they finished with a 2.77 goals-against average and .907 save percentage.

16-year-old Daemon Hunt captured two awards, the Andy’s Transmission Most Improved Player and the Vanier Collegiate Scholastic Achievement Award.  Drafted 15th overall in the 1st round of the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft, Hunt finished his rookie season 7 goals, 13 assists, and 20 points, which ranked fourth in the WHL among rookie defencemen.

18-year-old Tate Popple was named the Moose Jaw COOP Humanitarian of the Year.  Once again this season, the Warriors spent a lot of time in their community helping out organizations and visiting schools.  Popple led the team’s Warriors Workout program and in partnership with Boston Pizza Main and Thatcher, began an awareness campaign to help bring attention to Moose Jaw Big Brothers Big Sisters and he met with several “Big’s and Little’s” throughout the year.

19-year-old Luke Ormsby received the Mark MacKay Hustle Award which was presented by Warriors Hall of Famer Mark MacKay.  Ormsby joined the Warriors in December from Everett and had an immediate impact with his impressive work ethic and determination.

More News
2019 Main Camp Scrimmage 1 Team Black (4) vs Team White (5) OT
5 hours ago
2019 Main Camp Scrimmage 1 Team Black (4) vs Team White (2)
11 hours ago
Team Black (4) vs Team Red (3) Scrimmage
1 day ago
Team Red (3) vs Team White (1) Rookie Camp Scrimmage
1 day ago
2019 Warriors Training Camp - Denton Mateychuk
2 days ago
2019 Warriors Training Camp Fitness Testing - Brooke Kosolofski
2 days ago